Whatever Happened to My Childhood???

candyland2I have very fond memories of playing the board game Candy Land as a child. So I was really excited when my bro bought my 4-year-old Punkernoodle the game for her birthday. But I was dismayed to find out that it is no longer what I remember. I have done some searching and now think I might be going crazy…
 
I remember playing the game with a cloth bag filled with tiny colored plastic circles – you reached in, grabbed a circle and then moved to the corresponding space on the board. It was much like the process of picking a Scrabble tile. I can remember the sensation of reaching in and feeling around for a circle, brightly colored and looking much like candy.
 
Now, the game instead has a deck of cheapo paper cards with colored squares indicating where to move. Nostalgic, I started searching online for “vintage” and “retro” versions of the game. I found games with the older game board I remember, but still with the square cards – even versions from the fifties seem to have this deck of cards with colored squares (and I was born in the late 70s). I found a write-up of the game’s history and it even outlines the board and square cards, no mention of the bag of colored plastic circle tiles (which I know today would probably be a huge chocking hazard).
 
I’m going nuts! Am I nuts? Does ANYONE remember Candy Land with a bag of round colored tiles????
 

3 responses to “Whatever Happened to My Childhood???

  1. I remember playing some other game with the small colored circles, but I’m no help. I can’t remember what it was. Candyland for me was always the deck of cards. Let’s make a chicken-visit play date in Sept!

  2. I love playing Candyland with my 4 1/2 year old, just as much as I enjoyed playing when I was a little one.

    I was born in 1981, and all we had were the colored square cards. But your version sounds awesome!

    Maybe it was from another country? We have a few German versions of games (from my grandma) and they are sometimes slightly different from the American versions.

  3. I only remember candyland with the cards and I was born in the early 70’s.

Leave a Reply

